Honored to Serve as Senate Majority Leader

In October 2013, I received the tremendous honor of being elected Senate Majority Leader for the upcoming legislative session. Sen. Morgan Carroll (pictured at left) was elected the new President-elect of the Senate on the same day. I look forward to working with Pres. Carroll on the many issues we will face in 2014, and hopefully for the next several years to come.

Carroll and Heath%2C November 2013

My responsibilities in the Senate have changed as a result of accepting the new leadership position. The Majority Leader is responsible for tasks such as determining the numbers of senators on each committee of reference, assigning members from the majority party to the most appropriate committees, making Senate bill and calendar management decisions, approving certain expenses and more. This year, I will not serve on the topical committees I have served on in the past, such as Education or Transportation, and I will not carry nearly as many bills as I have during each of my last five sessions.

The other Senate Majority leadership positions will stay the same in 2014 as they were in 2013. Sen. Lucia Guzman will remain Senate President Pro Tempore, Sen. Irene Aguilar will remain Assistant Senate Majority Leader, Sen. Jeanne Nicholson will remain Senate Majority Caucus Chair, and Sen. Gail Schwartz will remain Senate Majority Whip. I believe we have assembled a tremendous leadership team with a wide range of skill sets, and we will do our best for the people of Colorado in the upcoming session.

Top of Page | Home