It was a great honor to learn that I will co-chair a recently appointed Joint Select Committee on Congressional Redistricting. States must review their congressional and state legislative district boundaries once every ten years, after each U.S. Census, and it could be necessary to redraw districts as population distribution and other factors change over time.

Our bipartisan committee roster will be: Sen. Rollie Heath, D-Boulder (co-chair); Rep. David Balmer, R-Centennial (co-chair); Sen. Gail Schwartz, D-Snowmass Village; Rep. B.J. Nikkel, R-Loveland; Sen. Greg Brophy, R-Wray; Rep. Ed Vigil, D-Fort Garland; Sen. Mark Scheffel, R-Parker; Rep.-Elect Dan Pabon, D-Denver; Sen. Morgan Carroll, D-Aurora; and Rep.-Elect Don Coram, R-Montrose.

Our committee will address a number of important considerations, including but not limited to how well we can keep communities of interest intact, political balance of a district, and of course making sure each district is basically the same size in population.

Redistricting can lead to significant changes in the political landscape, and can potentially change representation for given families or individuals. Therefore, parts of the process can be hard-fought or even controversial, and readers might wish to follow the process and get involved. Our committee must hold at least one public meeting in each of the seven congressional districts, and I will make sure notice of the meetings in at least CD-2 and CD-4 is sent out to people on my e-mail list and to the local media.

As always, feel free to contact me or my office with your thoughts, and I'm looking forward to working on this essential part of our democratic process.


Colorado's seven congressional districts in 2010

Top of Page | Home