District 18 Expanding to the West

The Colorado Supreme Court recently affirmed new state House and Senate district boundaries for the next 10 years. As a result, our Senate District 18 will expand greatly in geographic area, with most of the expansion in western Boulder County.

Senate District 18 for the next 10 years

The "old" District 18 basically included the City of Boulder, the towns of Niwot and Hygiene, and areas of unincorporated Boulder County to the east and north of Boulder and to the west and north of Longmont. As you can see, the new district will expand to the western and northern boundaries of Boulder County, including the towns of Lyons, Nederland, Allenspark, Jamestown and Ward. 

Senators and representatives will still serve the district they were elected in until the next election, which means I'll technically still represent the "old" district in 2012. However, I have announced that I will run for another term in District 18, and I'm looking forward to working with and for the people of western Boulder County during a new four-year term if voters approve of my candidacy. 

Reapportionment occurs once every 10 years, after each U.S. Census, and one of the main objectives is to make sure that all 35 Senate districts and all 65 House districts have roughly the same population. Since growth has been uneven in Colorado since the last Census, many districts changed significantly as a result of reapportionment. You may access the new legislative and congressional district maps by visiting http://www.colorado.gov/redistricting, and feel free to contact me or my office if you have questions. 

Top of Page | Home